“El Hierro, one of the smallest of Spain’s Canary Islands, is to receive 100 percent of its electricity supply from renewable energy sources, the Madrid government said Tuesday.

As part of a plan through to 2009, El Hierro will soon be able to rely on a combination of hydroelectricity and wind power to generate its electricity, the industry ministry said.”

This stuff about alternative fuel and power sources is not something we post about regularly but I think it is important. I for one often forget or sometimes just don’t care about pollution because frankly when it’s bad enough to be a real problem I’ll be long gone. I know that sucks to say but I’m sure alot of people think the same way, even though it’s not right.

When it comes down to it we need to use the rule we were taught in elementryt school. “Leave the room/place cleaner than when you came into it”.

[The title may be a little misleading but after reading the article I got this image of no longer being tied to the traditional forms of energy.]

read the article here

